My wish list for a new Florida home

Wolcott KitchenAs a Florida real estate salesman and real estate appraiser in Florida, I have seen a lot of real estate in my time.  As such, I have found several features that I find desirable in a home. 

Location:  We have all heard it before.  It is location, location, location.  Well that means to me is different than other people or at least it could be.  I prefer a home in deed restricted community with a good school district.  Having a home in a good school district could make all the difference even if you don’t have kids in school.  The next family could and premiums have been paid.  Cul-De-Sac locations are also preferred to interior location due to limited traffic especially if you have kids. 

FishHawk Ranch Aquatic ClubFloor Plan: Homes come in a variety of shapes and sizes.  I prefer a “L” shaped home that allows views of a pool from the living areas.  Depending on the size of your family, the actual size can vary based on the number of bedrooms.  With the right pool, the outdoor space becomes an excellent living space.  Thus, the property forms a rectangular.  I prefer single story homes versus two-story homes due to construction quality.  The second story is typically stucco over wood versus concrete block stucco construction on the first floor.

Azalea KitchenInterior: It is important interior features to focus on the kitchen and master bathrooms.  These are areas that could be dated and should be up to date.  In today’s market, people want 42 inch cabinets, prewire for surround sound, granite counters with bar seating, recessed lighting, vaulted ceilings, and stainless steel appliances.  I like these features as well.  Although an additional garage adds value, it rarely adds as much value as it costs to build.  However, a lot of people need the extra parking and/or storage.

Buying a New Home: Should you buy a new home versus an existing home? It depends. There isn’t a definitive answer to this question.  However, I prefer a new home over an existing home.  However, a home warranty provides piece of mind to home buyers odf existing homes as well as replace of long lived items like the roof and air conditioned units.

Why use a Realtor to find a new home?  You do not pay me anything to find a home (the builder pays my commission).  I could get you an even better deal than you could on your own.  For example, I have gotten clients additional money toward closing costs and upgrades.  I have even negotiated blinds, vinyl fencing, and garage door openers. 

If you are interested in buying real estate (new home or small investment property), please contact me (Alan Lane with Keller Williams Realty at 2119 W Brandon Blvd, Brandon, Florida  33511) and I can help you find a new home in the Tampa Bay Area.  As a life long resident of Central Florida, I can help you find the right property for you whether it is in Lakeland or as far south as Sarasota.  The Keller Williams offices of  ”Suburban Tampa” include the offices in Brandon, Plant City, Fishhawk Ranch, and our newest office in Valrico.  My email address is alanlane66@gmail.com, or call me at 813.205.9280.  If you are just starting your search, you can search the MLS for real estate opportunities on my website at this link.

One thought on “My wish list for a new Florida home

Leave a Reply

